AC/DC – High Voltage

So even though I just started this series, I’m already giving it a quick reset. I admit when I started posting on this rebranded review blog, I really didn’t have much of a game plan, so I just started posting one record after another without much regard to organization. But I have since thought of a game plan for this blog and decided to go ahead wipe the slate clean and start over. The idea is pretty simple, take a picture and write a little about every record, CD, and DVD in my collection, one title at a time in alphabetical order by artist name, in chronological order and post it. Which why I decided to start over, because with AC/DC I was bouncing around all over the place release wise. I figured since I was only 6 records in, I could just start over and post each record in order of their release. I will do my best to maintain that format for this whole series. We shall see how successful I am.

Anyway, this morning I’m playing AC/DC’s international debut release ‘High Voltage’. Never owned this album as a kid. As I’ve stated before in other reviews a few times, I was Brian Johnson fan when I was a prepubescent rocking out to AC/DC. The few Bon Scott songs I knew I didn’t like as much as the Johnson era stuff. It was many years later that I realized the entire Bon Scott era was awesome and the Johnson stuff mostly beat.

That said, there are a couple of songs on this record, ‘The Jake’ and ‘T.N.T.’, I could go the rest of my life without ever hearing again. Radio has completely killed those songs for me. But if you minus those two songs, and maybe one or two others, you have a decent collection of hard rock tunes. Songs that helped earn the bands reputation of being one of the all-time great rock n roll bands.

Tags: , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

