AC/DC – For Those About to Rock We Salute You

Well, the enviable happened. I finally had to flip my A and B studio rigs. My old reliable desktop computer that I have been using for the last 6 years and has pretty much been the center of my studio has finally started showing signs of fatigue and may not be as efficient anymore. Actually, it’s been showing these signs for a while now. But finally admitted to myself that it didn’t make any sense having a powerful, current, gaming laptop in my room streaming Netflix and podcasts while I have a dying computer in the center of my workstation. It’s time to change that. And that’s what I did last night. This review is the first review done on the old computer in my room. It’s a bit awkward but I might be able to make it work.

Though I have moved the laptop to the central control position, I’m still not quite ready to put the tower out to pasture just yet. Soon here I’m going to do OS reinstall and see if that cleans things up a bit. If not it might be time to replace the processor or the OD Drive. We’ll see.

So what does this have to do with AC/DC? Nothing, but this album isn’t really all that interesting, so I didn’t feel inspired enough to talk about it. But I guess I could throw a little bit out there for the hell of it:

I first heard title track when I was 8 or 9 years old when I saw the video for it. I remember liking it, but there is a good chance that was just because my cousin Jeff said it was awesome. If he liked it, then I liked it. That’s just how that worked back then.

Bought the record probably around the time I was 11 or 12 years old. Realized fairly early that it really wasn’t that great of a record. Like every other AC/DC record that came out during the 80’s and 90’s, it has one classic tune, a few ok songs, and quite a few more forgettable songs. The overall feeling of the record is stale and lacks any sort of life.

Let’s see what else? Oh, I’m listening to the digital copy right now, even hough I have the vinyl just a few feet away. In fact, it’s the exact same copy I bought at K-Mart in 1985 or 86, and since I didn’t lay that often, it’s still in decent enough condition to play. But I’m still not going to bother, why? Because it’s not worth the effort.

i#AC_DC #80srock #classicrock #rocknroll #vinyl #vinylcollection #musiccollection #musicnerd

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

