AC/DC – Let There Be Rock: The Movie – Live in Paris

Today’s dorkfest is brought to you by AC/DC’s ‘Let There Be Rock: The Movie – Live in Paris’, a live record that was recorded during the ‘Highway to Hell’ tour. Which this a somewhat fitting CD to play today considering what’s about to happen in about two hours. But let’s not dwell on that.

 

So, this two CD set is part of the ‘Bonfire’ box set, which is a collection of live and rare recordings from the Bon Scott era of the band. Though I think I had downloaded the set at one time and probably listened to it at least once, I have never owned it and really don’t know much about it. I found this disc used at an Exchange a few years back. When I bought the CD, I didn’t realize it was part of a box set. So, for all intents and purposes, I never heard this album until I around 2011, and even then, only a few times since.

 

From what I understand it comes from a movie released in the early 80’s. I will admit I never heard of the movie until about 5 or 6 years ago when some of my friends who are a few years older than me started telling me about how they used to be able to go see this movie in the theater on regular basis. But for whatever reason, it was never released as a proper LP or home video. Because of that, I was completely unaware of its existence until 2010. In fact, I still have never seen it.

 

I suspect that the reason it was never released during the 80’s or 90’s is because it’s production quality wasn’t quite up to the standards of the day. Though it’s a great documentation of what the band was like live during this time, it still has a few blemishes. Especially when you compare it to the record I listened to yesterday. For one there is a hum from the guitar cabinets in between every song. Scott’s performance fluctuates throughout the set and the band is a little sloppy here and there. But the overall vibe of the recording is fantastic.

 

Nowadays such a raw and imperfect recording can be forgiven and even preferred by many people. But during the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s record labels, management companies, producers, and bands had a different philosophy when it came to live records. If something was going to be mass-produced and released to the public, it had to be almost perfect sounding, which usually meant there was a little bit (or a lot) of studio doctoring after the fact. It’s very well possibly that the powers that be may have thought this recording didn’t have enough commercial viability to merit such post production work.

 

But this is all speculation, and I’m too lazy to look it up now, so we’re just going to leave there and call it a day.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

