Aerosmith – Get Your Wings

Take three: Ok I’m just gonna come out and say it. Totally not feeling today’s record or doing the write-up. The smart thing to do would be to just shelve it for later in the day after my headache wears off or the caffeine kicks in. But that is not what I’m going to do. Instead, I’m going to soldier on and see what I come up with.

 

Anyway, todays record is Aerosmith’s second record ‘Get Your Wings’. An album I seem to remember liking, though I can’t remember why at the moment. But it’s the next record on the shelve, so we’re gonna talk about it…sort of.

 

I first heard of Aerosmith during the summer of 1986 when I saw the video for Run DMC’s cover of ‘Walk This Way’. I have to say 12-year-old Dave was not impressed. I liked Run DMC’s part but thought Steven Tyler’s attempt at screaming the chorus was terrible, still, do in fact. Over time though it grew on me.

 

About a year later one of my neighbors ended up with a copy of the ‘Greatest Hits’ cassette and I was able to dub a copy, and it was that tape that really exposed me to Aerosmith’s music. This was perhaps six months before the iconic comeback record ‘Permeant Vacation’ came out. So they hadn’t become a household name again yet, so I wasn’t over exposed to all the songs on that compilation record. But overall I liked pretty much every song on that tape and listened to it quite a bit. After listening to Run DMC’s version of ‘Walk this Way’ so many times, though, I didn’t really care for the original.

 

A later that year when ‘Permanent Vacation’ came out, my brother got the tape and I listened to it quite a bit. I thought it was a good record and still do, though I could do without the radio hits now.

 

But it was somewhere around the time I entered high school that I started to get bored with the band. Their popularity was rising and the next thing I knew I started to hear them on the radio all the time, both the contemporary songs and pretty much every song from ‘The Greatest Hits’ tape. By the time I graduated high school in 1993 I was completely over this band and had no interest in anything they were doing through the rest of the 90’s and 2000’s. Which seemed to me to be nothing but one overblown power ballads after another.

 

Because of all this, I never took the time and actually listened to all the early records from the 1970’s. I just didn’t care. It wasn’t until around 2010 when I got my first computer and discovered the whole downloading thing that I finally took the time to check out some of the early records and was shocked to discover that at one point in time Aerosmith actually was a great band writing great music. I have blown away.

 

Because of that discovery, when I first started collecting vinyl, I felt I needed to have Aerosmith in my collection, and I ended up with the four records I have now. But to be honest, I rarely ever want to listen to them. I realize now, though their early stuff isn’t bad, I’m just not interested in listening to them very often. Chances are after I get through these next few records in this series, that will probably be the last time those records get played.

 

Now, this could just be my mood, and I may have a completely take on them tomorrow. But that’s just how I feel right now while typing this.

Tags: , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

