Aerosmith – Toys in the Attic

So, I’m feeling a little better today, and a bit more into this silly little project I’ve given myself. So, let’s see how this turns out. Today’s record is Aerosmith’s third effort and from what I understand the one that broke the band into the main stream, 1976’s ‘Toys in The Attic’. According to Wikipedia, it is the bestselling album to date with 8,000,000 copies sold. Though that’s an impressive number, I’m honestly surprised that it’s not a higher. I’m was also a little shocked to see that it outsold some of the late 80’s and early 90’s records by a million units each. I sincerely thought ‘Pump’ and ‘Get a Grip’ would have been their biggest sellers. But it does make sense that this record would have sold more simply because it came out 15 years before ‘Pump’ and was a pretty big seller out the gate.

 

So, if you read my ‘Get Your Wings’ review yesterday, then you can probably guess what I’m going to say next. I first listened to this record in its entirety only 5 or 6 years ago, and only a handful of time since then. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t heard half this record a billion times thanks to the ‘Greatest Hits’ tape and classic rock radio. The title track, ‘Walk This Way’, ‘Sweet Emotion’ and to a lesser extent ‘Big Ten Inch Record’ have been drilled into our heads for the last 40 years. Though all the above-mentioned songs are great songs, but thanks to the radio I could go rest of my life without ever hearing those songs again. I’m so over them.

 

Those songs aside the rest of the record are killer the whole way through. After two years of recording and touring constantly the band had matured greatly. They came into the writing session for the record as better musicians with stronger song ideas. Add in a quality producer they were comfortable working with, it’s no surprise they ended up with their best record to date. You could say the planets had aligned for them in this effort, and it paid off.

 

In a way, I sort of regret never paying this or any of their early records much attention in high school. I had access to this record in particular through my neighbor’s parents record collection. But never bothered with it because I was sort of bored with them by the time I was 16 yrs old. Because of that, I deprived myself of some quality classic rock tunes for a couple of decades. But at the same time, it’s nice to discover music that’s new to you, even though it’s decades old by the time you hear them.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

