Anthrax – Armed and Dangerous

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to run to work a few hours earlier than expected this morning. Therefore, I didn’t get a chance to bang out a quick review before leaving the apartment like I wanted to. Now that I’m home and showered, I really don’t have the energy to or the mental capacity to try and write one now, so I’m just going to steal from the post I wrote last year. I admit the original post wasn’t my best effort and probably should be rewritten. But I just spent an afternoon gutting a piano and have no energy for anything. Plus, I have about 700 – 800 more records and CD’s to review in this series, so we got to keep this train rolling, for better or worse.

 

‘Armed and Dangerous’ came out in 1985 to introduce fans to vocalist Joey Belladonna, who just replaced original vocalist Neil Turbin. It’s a short five song EP that features new material, a cover song, and some live stuff. I first came across this record back in high school when it was reissued on CD with two bonus demo tracks. I believe I was in 10th grade at the time, which would mean I was 16 yrs old. I had been listening to Anthrax for years and was already familiar with what they had to offer. Now to be honest I’m not sure exactly where I put them on my top 20 list at the time. I really liked them obviously, but I think for the most part I sort of moved on from Anthrax, but still liked them enough to pick up random stuff when I came across it. Therefore, I picked this record up and from what I can remember, I liked this CD when I got it. I always liked the song ‘Armed and Dangerous’ and I seem to remember liking their cover of the Sex Pistols ‘God Save the Queen’, aside from that I don’t remember anything else from this EP or that time. I mean I know I liked it, but the rest of the CD didn’t leave much of an impression on me. But I do seem to remember not liking the two bonus tracks, which I believe are demo versions of songs with Neil Turbin singing. It’s those two songs which prevented me from checking out ‘Fistful of Metal’ until I was in my 30’s, but we’ll save that story for when we get to that record. (Actually, I explained that yesterday in the ‘Fistful of Metal’ review.)

 

I will say this, though; I really like every song on this collection now a lot. It seems to be the older I get the more I like early thrash metal, even more than when I was 15 yrs old. With it only being 5 songs long, it seems sort of pointless to pick two or three songs as highlights. But for the sake of consistency I’ll go with the title track, ‘God Save The Queen’ and ‘Metal Thrashing Mad’. But for real if you’re going to bother sampling this record, just listen to the whole thing, it’s not very long.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

