Anthrax – Summer 2003 EP

So, I have a little bit of an oddball title today, Anthrax’s 2003 EP simply titled ‘Summer 2003’, which is essentially just the single for the song ‘Safe Home’ from the record ‘We’ve Come for You All’ with a collection of classic rock cover songs the band had been recording through the mid to late 90’s. To be honest it’s sort of a throwaway disc to me and I debated whether I really wanted to cover it all in this series. But I still own it, it’s on my CD shelf still, so I may as well give it it’s fair airing and move on.

 

As you may have gathered by now I tend to go to Wikipedia as a source to supplement what I may or may not know about any given record. The Wikipedia entry for this CD is rather short, so I figured I may as well just steal that entry verbatim so you can have the information.

 

Per Wikipedia:

 

“…’Summer 2003′ is an EP by the heavy metal band Anthrax released in 2003 by Nuclear Blast. It was an exclusive at Nuclear Blast mailorder and was released as an EP and as a “2 for 1” with the 2003 album We’ve Come for You All. It features the bonus cover tracks from the 2001 remasters of ‘Sound of White Noise’ and ‘Stomp 442’, as well as the radio version of “Safe Home”. This is Anthrax’s last released album featuring Paul Crook on lead guitar.”

 

Aside from that what else do you need to know? Ok, maybe you wanna know what songs are covered, who did the originals and what I think about them. Fine:

 

  1. Safe Home (Radio Edit)” (Anthrax original) – Meh.
  2. Grunt & Click (Anthrax original) – Meh.
  3. Dethroned Emperor (Celtic Frost cover) – I’ve heard worse covers.
  4. Celebrated Summer (Hüsker Dü cover) – Not feelin’ it.
  5. Watchin’ You (Kiss cover) – Kinda kicks ass in my opinion.
  6. Auf Wiedersehen (Cheap Trick cover) – Meh.
  7. Cowboy Song (Thin Lizzy cover) – Not bad, I like the original better.
  8. London (The Smiths cover) – Meh.

 

If my memory serves me correctly I think I probably bought this CD around 2007 or 2008, though it could have been sooner. Obviously, it didn’t make that much of an impression on me. I think I played it once or twice at the time and it has since sat on my shelf collecting dust*. Throughout this series, I have listened to several songs from this CD’s as they popped up on Spotify, and the other day I played the CD along with a few other Anthrax CD’s while I was lying in bed reading. But today’s spin is literally the first time in ten years that I intentionally played this CD, and will most likely be the last time. The only reason I haven’t gotten rid of the disc is because who’s going to buy it? It really can’t be worth anything. I think I only paid a few dollars for it, so it’s not like I’m going to get much if I were to sell it. So, until I decide to take the plunge and sell off my entire CD collection, this CD will sit on the shelf collecting dust.

 

So yeah, that’s the whole ‘Summer 2003’ EP in a nutshell. There really isn’t much more I can say about it. I bought during a time I was interested in owning everything the band put out. Didn’t care for it when I got it, listened to it maybe 4 times total and would have sold it by now if I thought I could get anything for it. That’s it. Tomorrow’s CD/DVD is much better. Stay tuned

 

*When I say, a CD is on my shelf collecting dust, I’m really going for effect. Truth is, every CD I’ve bought since 2007 is sitting on a shelf collecting dust. Ever since I got my first iPod in 2007, every CD I have purchased rarely gets played in a CD player. Usually what happens is, I buy it, bring it home and rip into my computer, and then listen to it on my iPod or through iTunes on the computer. When I was living with my parents between 2009 – 2015, occasionally I would loan a CD to a friend who would do the same thing. But for the most part, every CD I own is collecting dust and taking up space. Which is why I have been contemplating selling them off the last few years. But I just bring myself to do it.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

