As They Burn – Will, Love, Life

So, I woke up at 4:30 am this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep. I ended getting up around 7:30, taking a shower and going out and getting coffee. I figured I’d bang out a quick review early and move with my day. The problem was, though, I still felt catatonic and had no mental energy to do anything. What did I end up doing? You guessed it, I fell back asleep and ended up sleeping until about noon. But thanks to that nap, I now feel much more into doing a review.

 

But the next issue I face is, what record do I review? Now I do have a spread sheet I’m working from that had at least the first 150 records and CD’s I plan on covering. On that list, I have two more Arch Enemy DVD’s I planned on talking about. But as we learned over the last week, ends up I have very little to talk about with that band. Yesterday I tried to write a review for the first DVD and even though I managed to write over 900 words, I still didn’t feel I said anything of interest. So, I think I’m just going to scrap it and skip the other DVD and move onto the next title on my list. That title being As They Burn’s 2013’s ‘Will, Love, Life’.

 

Who is As They Burn you ask? Well, to be honest, I have no fucking clue. The CD made its way into my collection a few years ago when my buddy Steve K, who hosts a radio show in Buffalo, threw a New Year’s Eve party at this bar and was giving away a ton of CD’s and other items throughout the night. At the end of the night, Steve handed me a stack of CD’s and said, here “you go man, take em all.” This CD was in that stack.

 

Around that time, I listened to every CD he gave me, and I liked a few, others no so much. I seemed to remember liking this CD a little bit more than some of the other ones, but even then I only listened to it a few times, and it’s been nearly 4 years since I last listened to it. So, because of that, I really don’t have much to say about the disc.

 

Before I took my nap, I did a quick internet search to see if I could learn a little bit about the band to share with you. What I found out was that there is no English Wikipedia page for them, though I did find one in French, and since I can’t read or speak French, it doesn’t help me much. In fact, very little of what I found on the band was not in French. Which leads me to suspect that the band is from France. Aside from that, I got nothing.

 

So that leaves me with the torturous task of trying to describe the band’s music, without much of a reference to work with. As I’ve mentioned in earlier post’s, I have a hard time nailing down the various contemporary sub-genres of heavy metal and hardcore anymore. Stuff that would have been considered metal in 1992 is now labeled with a string of words that have the word “core” at the end of each of them. I have no idea what makes something hardcore, metalcore, slamcore, scream-o, or whatever meaningless label you want to add to it.

 

So, because of that, I don’t know what subgenre of hardcore or heavy metal As They Burn fall under. In fact, I’m not sure if I’m doing them justice by suggesting that hardcore is part of their sound. To me, it sounds like the label fits. Heavy down-tuned guitars with lots of breakdowns, but the same time there’s a lot of elements that remind me of metal bands like Lamb of God and Slipknot. So, I guessing that they’re metal with some form of the word ‘Core” tossed in at some point.

 

What I can tell you, the record is pretty damn heavy throughout the entire thing. Though I wouldn’t say it’s terribly unique in any way. To be honest it sounds like a dozen of other bands I don’t listen to. Which is probably why I never bothered with it after the first or second listen. It just doesn’t move me that much. But that’s my own personal taste.  As I’ve to think I’ve established by now, when it comes to heavy metal, I’m an old school 80’s thrash metal head all the way. Most of the contemporary metal I like is either created by the thrash bands I grew up with or reminds of those bands. Most of the bands and subgenres that emerged out of the mid to late 90’s and early 2000’s don’t do much for me. It’s not to say all those bands suck, they’re just not for me.

 

Which sort of sums up my opinion of As They Burn. It was by no means painful to listen to this CD this afternoon. It never annoyed me the whole time it was on. But at the same time, even though it just ended less than two minutes ago, it left no impression on me and I couldn’t tell you what a single song sounded like.

About Dc3 Pratt Productions

My name is Dave and I play at being in the music business. I'm a stagehand, backline tech, musician, songwriter, producer, engineer, videographer, photographer, journalist and graphic artist. In other words, I have a low-level industry job, a few consumer based production programs, a smart phone, a decent computer, and a few other accessories for creating music and video projects and have a basic grasp of how to use all them. I mainly write music reviews of my own record and CD collection, but I occasionally produce some music with horrible videos to go along with them that I post to YouTube, that next to no one watches beside a handful of close friends and family. I've created this sort make-believe record company as a forum to house all of my artistic creations. Mainly so I can direct my friends and family to a single place to check out my stuff if they want. I have no skills or talent in any of these creative endeavors I dabble in but continue to do them anyway. Hopefully, someone will find a use for them, but I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

